The Grief of Regret: Lamentations - Bible Reading Plan

The Grief of Regret: Lamentations image

Sometimes we grieve due to a tragedy in our lives. Other times, grief is a result of the consequences of our sin. Jeremiah wrote Lamentations to express his sorrow over Jerusalem's destruction which resulted because of their rebellion against God. As believers, we need to read through this book because it reminds us of two things: 1) disobeying God always has consequences, and 2) God gives grace even when we ignore his warnings. This 5-day reading plan covers the entire book of Lamentations—focusing on one chapter a day. Read to the end to gain a more complete picture of both God's judgement and his steadfast love.

Day 1: My Soul Despairs, For I Have Rebelled

Lamentations 1:1-22

Day 2: Cry Aloud Before the Lord

Lamentations 2:1-22

Day 3: New Mercies Each Morning

Lamentations 3:1-66

Day 4: The Anger of the Lord is Satisfied

Lamentations 4:1-22

Day 5: Lord, Bring Us Back to You Again!

Lamentations 5:1-22